Reflections on Rainn Wilson’s Lecture

Sometimes you experience something that is so powerful and has so much impact on your life, the only way to make sense of it is to write about it. That’s kinda how I’m feeling right now..

I have a bad habit of making assumptions.. and I assumed that tonight, I would go to the Rainn Wilson lecture and laugh a lot and it would be funny and then I would go home and watch Netflix. I did laugh a lot.. but I learned a whole lot more.. and I learned so much that I’m writing a blog post that’s not even required instead of watching Netflix (this is big).

Rainn Wilson said a lot of things that really spoke to me tonight and I’m going to be making some big changes in my life because of him.

The first thing he said that made me start thinking was.. “I want to be the same person everywhere I go..”. When I think about all the different facades that I put on throughout the day, I kind of question my sanity. It would be a lot easier if I was just myself, whoever that is, than these different characters I play. And, I would be a lot more honest and a lot more wholesome if I was just who I am 100 percent of the time.. instead of when it suits the situation.

Then he said something along the lines of.. “Science does not have to be separate from God..”. I like that concept, a lot and have always thought that the two go hand in hand. Actually, I liked hearing about Wilson’s “wackadoodle” religion (that religion is Baha’i)  and felt oddly connected to it even though it differed from mine.

And then there’s this that just absolutely blew my mind.. “Contentment is never attached to external events..”. So wait, you’re saying that I can do anything.. absolutely anything to try to be content in my life.. but at the end of the day it comes from the inside? That’s something to think about. But, I liked the point he made about the difference between happiness and contentment and why happiness isn’t necessarily what we should want. Happiness is just like a sugar high and eventually you come down off of it and your down again looking for the next rush. I don’t like that. Being content will come from within and depend on nothing… it’s a choice, which makes it easy. I can make the decision to feel content and filled with gratitude everyday and that’s what I’m going to do.  I like the way that sounds much more.

I don’t remember exactly what Wilson said but it touched on how important service is. Instead of living life with a ME ME ME attitude… it’s important to live your life serving others. I’ve always thought that and at times, I’ve even preached that.. but, I have never lived that way and it’s time that changed. Wilson said everything starts with “Is there a God?” and I do believe that there is. So, it’s time that I start living like he would. Creating myself in his image, so that I can feel content and gratitude and peace.

Other tidbits of ideas and quotes that I liked or stood out:

  • “How will you choose to live?”
  • “The time to live is now. “
  • “The greatest ode we can give to the creator of the universe.. is to create.” (holla. I love this. exactly why I love creating.)
  • “I’m going to rock people.. to their cores”
  • “I believe everyone is an artist” 
  • “We are like beautiful flowers in a flower garden”

I can feel myself growing so much already through the wonderful experiences I’m getting to have at the University of North Texas! Everyday here is another affirmation that this is where I was meant to be.

Leave a Reply

