What I have in common with Adam Sandler, Oprah and Mel Gibson

Hey.. so that’s pretty cool Adam Sandler, Oprah, and Mel Gibson all are INFJs… and I am too!

If there’s anything that I’ve learned about myself it’s that I’m an awful guesser.. but for once, I have guessed something correctly! I was spot on when I said that my MBTI test results would reveal that I was an INFJ. I thought that was pretty exciting. I don’t think that I am going to start relying on my guessing skills anytime soon though..

untitled

I was really excited about my results. I thought that it was highly accurate .. almost too accurate. In some ways, it revealed things about myself that I never noticed which is kind of scary.

My MBTI test results isn’t affecting my career exploration too much because many of the careers listed as ideal for me are ones I have already considered which is so fantastic. I feel like I’m starting to get somewhere and the things that I have had doubts about in the past are being affirmed by what I am learning about myself in UGST1000.

One of the careers I picked to research on O*NET was a clinical psychologist because that seems to be the career I keep going back to. The first things I looked at was salary, projected growth and projected job openings. I learned that I’m definitely not going to be seeing just a ton of green if I go down this route.. but that’s okay. Not everything is about money. The projected growth is between 20% and 28% which isn’t bad.. and the projected job openings is 82,300. That makes me hopeful for the future.

I also looked into the desktop publishing career because it seemed like it could be interesting.. and it was almost perfect for me.. then I saw the salary (it was even less than the clinical psychologist!)  and projected growth (it was declining) and I decided that maybe I wouldn’t go down that road.

I really wanted to look into more careers than just one because  a lot of them seemed so cool.. so I started going down the list and looking into pretty much everything on O*NET. Boy, I am so glad that I did this. I was able to mark many careers off the list that at first, seemed desirable but after investigation.. were no longer interesting to me in any way.

Here are some popular occupations for INFJs:

  1. Writer
  2. Interior Designer
  3. Psychiatrist
  4. Clinical/counseling/educational psychologist
  5. Environmental scientist
  6. Desktop publisher

I’m actually interested in a lot of the careers above. I see myself doing a lot of these.. maybe not as an occupation, but as a hobby or on the side. I love the idea of getting into interior design but I don’t know that I could do it for a living and writing will always be a hobby of mine but I don’t see myself writing any best sellers anytime soon so I’ll just leave that for free time.

Here are some occupations that are not so popular for INFJs:

  1. Driver
  2. Political scientist
  3. Medical record technician
  4. Top executive, legal
  5. Tax Examiner
  6. Nursery worker/farm laborer

I think that there is a good reason that those careers are unpopular… most of them sound boring to me and I would never really consider choosing them for a career. All of those jobs seem so gray and drab.. I’m looking for something a bit more colorful.

All in all, I thought that the popular and unpopular careers for me were pretty accurate.

One thought on “What I have in common with Adam Sandler, Oprah and Mel Gibson

Leave a Reply

